STAAR Testing

Girl at chalkboardIn Texas, public schools must administer standardized tests to satisfy federal and state law. Students in grades 3-8 and high school take the STAAR exam. STAAR stands for the State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness. In all grades, the assessments are designed to test students on the state standards that are required to be taught in public school.

Students take the STAAR test in the following grades:

  • Mathematics, annually in grades 3–8.
  • Reading, annually in grades 3–8.
  • Social studies in grade 8.
  • Science in grades 5 and 8.

Secondary students must take the state-adopted STAAR end-of-course (EOC) exams for the following courses:

  • Algebra I
  • Biology
  • English I
  • English II
  • United States history

With the exception of some EOC exams, standardized assessments are administered in the spring. STAAR results are used to rate schools and districts in the state accountability system and to identify when a school or district requires state intervention. Unless an exception applies, students must also pass certain EOC exams before receiving a high school diploma.